Youth Groups Sign Covenant with Candidates

Press Release
26 April 2010

National candidates pledge to uphold youth agenda

Different youth groups, student councils, campus publications and student organizations today presented to the media the “Youth Choices” for president, vice-president, senators and partylist to the media based on a “Youth Covenant“.

Led by the National Union of Students of the Philippines (NUSP), College Editors Guild of the Philippines CEGP), Student Christian Movement (SCM), League of Filipino Students (LFS), ANAKBAYAN and the student councils and offices of the student regents of the University of the Philippines and Polytechnic University of the Philippines, around 80 student leaders and youth representatives gathered at the Kowloon House in West Avenue this morning to sign “A Covenant with the Youth: A Promise of Change” with the 2010 national bets.

Among the youth’s choices were Senators Manny Villar and Loren Legarda for president and vice-president. “We believe that Sen. Villar has the clearest platform for the youth, especially in addressing how to make education more accessible to poor but deserving students. Sen. Legarda, on the other hand, unites with the youth in caring for the environment and upholding freedom of speech in the campus,” said Anakbayan national chairperson Ken Ramos.

Disclaimer | What you are reading is either a press release/ statement or a manifesto. These materials do not go through our editorial process and do not reflect our policy or position.

For senators, the youth groups hand-picked nine candidates based on their youth agenda led by Reps. Satur Ocampo and Liza Maza. “Among all the senatorial candidates, Ocampo and Maza have most proven to the youth their commitment to fight for higher budget for education and to curb unjust and illegal tuition hikes. Their track record and platform are the most youth-friendly,” said NUSP President Einstein Recedes.

Other senatorial bets who pledged to uphold the youth agenda were Atty. Adel Tamano, Gilbert Remulla, Sen. Pia Cayetano and Atty. Gwen Pimentel of the Nacionalista Party, Rep. Ruffy Biazon of the Liberal Party, Silvestre Bello III of Lakas-KAMPI and Apolinario “Jun” Lozada of Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino.

For partylist, the youth groups unanimously chose to endorse KABATAAN Partylist led by Rep. Raymond “Mong” Palatino. “It would be for the best interest of the youth to install more youth representatives in Congress. KABATAAN Partylist has had a very good start in the legislature filing bills on education, the environment, job security and promoting youth empowerment and representation in governance. We have also consistently worked with the partylist inside and outside of Congress,” said SCM Chairperson Cristina Guevarra.

The candidates presented to the youth audience their platforms for the youth before they symbolically signed the Youth Covenant with youth and student leaders.

“This is a very significant event two weeks to go before the May 10 elections. With this covenant, we will hold the candidates to their word and promise to uphold the youth’s right to education, employment, environment and good governance should they win,” said LFS Chairperson Terry Ridon.

Attached herewith is a copy of the covenant signed by the May 2010 candidates and youth leaders.

Share This Post